Sunshine & Sakura

We were lucky enough to spend the last week and some days in San Diego visiting some of our best friends! We had an excellent trip and really enjoyed getting in some quality time with them! We got in all sorts of fun activities including a Cherry Blossom Festival, a trip to see the Torrey Pines and walk along the beach there, a trip to Disneyland, a hike up Mt. Woodson to Potato Chip Rock, a trip out to Coronado Island, and a walk around Old Town San Diego State Park.

IMG_1666.JPG
Panorama taken from our hike on Mt. Woodson

We ate tons of yummy food, fish tacos, Russian/Georgian cuisine, ramen, sushi, Thai, more fish tacos! Needless to say, our fridge is now stocked with tons of fruits vegetables and meats. No more eating out for a bit. Also, I just watched “Cooked” on Netflix, which is a 4 part docu-series of hour long episodes. I felt moved to get into my kitchen and create after watching it and I guarantee I will be watching the series again soon. If you’re at all interested in cooking, or interested in science I whole-heartedly recommend this series. Each epidsode is broken down into the four major elements: fire, water, air, earth and the foods and processes that can be associated with each. It gives you a new found respect for the artisans who don’t take shortcuts.

I’m trying to get myself excited again about blogging and creating after our trip. I’m tired and having a hard time mustering the excitement and motivation but I’m going to try and make a few things today just to get back on track. I’ve been working on a garter stitch blanket for baby Troy over the past week and a half and I’m already halfway through! I’m also about 3/4 of the way through a hat for my aunt, almost finished with my new cross-stitch pattern, and have another pattern for a brooch to make out of felt! I’m never without a project that’s for sure! What are you working on this week?

IMG_1718

Leave a Reply

